A Tribe Called Quest – Check The Rhime


“Check the rhyme yall”

hit the jump for the lyrics

Q-Tip:
back in the days on the boulevard of linden,
We used to kick routines and presence was fittin.
It was I the abstract

Phife Dog:
and me the five footer.
I kicks the mad style so step off the frankfurter.

Q-Tip:
yo, phife, you remember that routine
That we used to make spiffy like mister clean?

Phife Dog:
um um, a tidbit, um, a smidgen.
I don~t get the message so you gots to run the pigeon.

Q-Tip:
you on point phife?

Phife Dog:
all the time, tip.

Q-Tip:
you on point phife?

Phife Dog:
all the time, tip.

Q-Tip:
you on point phife?

Phife Dog:
all the time, tip.

Q-Tip:
well, then grab the microphone and let your words rip.

Phife Dog:
now heres a funky introduction of how nice I am.
Tell your mother, tell your father, send a telegram.
Im like an energizer cause, you see, I last long.
My crew is never ever wack because we stand strong.
Now if you say my style is wack thats where youre dead wrong.
I slayed that body in el segundo then push it along.
Youd be a fool to reply that phife is not the man
cause you know and I know that you know who I am.
A special shot of peace goes out to all my pals, you see.
And a middle finger goes for all you punk mcs.
cause I love it when you wack mcs despise me.
They get vexed, I roll next, can~t none contest me.
Im just a fly mc whos five foot three and very brave.
On job remaining, no Im chaining cause I misbehave.
I come correct in full effect have all my hoes in check.
And before I get the butt the jim must be erect.
You see, my aura~s positive I dont promote no junk.
See, Im far from a bully and I aint a punk.
Extremity in rhythm, yeah thats what you heard.
So just clean out your ears and just check the word.

Q-Tip:
check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check it out.
Check it out.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Play tapes yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check the rhyme yall.
Check it out.
Check it out.

Phife Dog:
back in days on the boulevard of linden,
We used to kick routines and the presence was fittin
It was I the phifer,

Q-Tip:
and me, the abstract.
The rhymes were so rumpin that the brothers rode the zack.

Phife Dog:
yo, tip you recall when we used to rock
Those fly routines on your cousin~s block.

Q-Tip:
um, let me see, damn I cant remember.
I receive the message and you will play the sender.

Phife Dog:
you on point tip?

Q-Tip::
all the time phife.

Phife Dog:
you on point tip?

Q-Tip:
yeah, all the time phife.

Phife Dog:
you on point tip?

Q-Tip:
yo, all the time phife.

Phife Dog:
so play the resurrector and give the dead some life.

Q-Tip:
okay, if knowledge is the key then just show me the lock.
Got the scrawny legs but I move just like lou brock,
With speed. Im agile plus Im worth your while.
One hundred percent intelligent black child.
My optic presentation sizzles the retina.
How far must I go to gain respect? um.
Well, its kind of simple, just remain your own
Or youll be crazy sad and alone.
Industry rule number four thousand and eighty,
Record company people are shady.
So kids watch your back cause I think they smoke crack,
I dont doubt it. look at how they act.
Off to better things like a hip-hop forum.
Pass me the rock and Ill storm with the crew and …
Proper. what you say hammer? proper.
Rap is not pop, if you call it that then stop.

Nc, yall check the rhyme yall.
Sc, yall check it out yall.
Virginia, check the rhyme yall.
Check it out. out.
In london, check the rhyme, yall.
Holding stunts captive
With my persona
Plus, I bomba
Testin
Niguhs is testin
My patience
But I stay fresh and

Restin at the mall
Attendance on low
But I am shopping for my winter
Exploits: some new fits
Some new kicks
I often do this
Cause it’s the pits not being dipped

Flip – the flier attire
Female’s desire
Baby, you can step to this if you admire
The ex – traordinary dapper rapper
Keep tabs on your main squeeze before I tap her

I’ll mack her
Attack her with the smoothness
I do this
Even when my crew gets
Loot, props, respect and blunts to pass
Crews talk shit, but in my face they kiss my ass
They bite flows but we make up new ones
If you’re really dope, why ain’t ya signed yet?
But I get
My loot from Jive/Zomba
I’ma bomb ya
You will see
From now to infinity

Ah, this is how we chill from 93 ’til
This is how we chill from 93 ’til…

Hah-hah, coolin out, ya know what I’m sayin. But, but who’s chillin
around the Land? You know? Yo, who’s chillin? I think I know who’s
chillin. Tell me who’s chillin today.
Casual – you know he’s chillin.
Yo Pep Love – he gotta be chillin.
Jay Biz – ya know he’s chillin.
Ay yo, my man, my man Snupe is chillin, man.
Yo Mike G – you know he’s here chillin.
Yeah, my man Mike P – he know he gotta chill.
Del the Funkyhomosapien is chillin.
Hey, my man Domino – yo he’s chillin.

Posted on February 9, 2012, in #Thursday Throwback, Videos and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

